New Music on the Cutting Edge

2015-16 Concert Season

Classical Interludes: Murail in America

Sunday, March 13, 2016, 4:00 PM
Dweck Center at the Brooklyn Public Library Central Library, 10 Grand Army Plaza, Brooklyn
[subway: 2/3 to Grand Army Plaza ; Q to 7 Av]
Admission free (ticket required)

At the peak of his artistic creativity from 1997 to 2010, Tristan Murail lived and worked in the center of American musical culture, New York City. As one of the most prominent living French composers, his legacy resulted in a cross pollination with young emerging American artists yielding a unique hybrid of new music subculture. (Argento was formed as a result of close collaboration between Murail and a group of ambitious young virtuosi.)

Since his departure, Murail’s New York following has been eager to hear spectral music performed in a chamber ensemble setting, and, in particular, for Argento to perform this repertoire. The most common request Argento receives is, “When will we hear you play Murail again?”

In conjunction with the French American Cultural Exchange and the Brooklyn Public Library, Argento contextualizes Murail's work as a composer and pedagogue in a program of chamber music by him and by three of his American protèges.


Tristan Murail - The Bronze Age (2012) for flute, clarinet, trombone, violin, cello and piano
World premiere performed by Argento in 2012

Joshua Fineberg - Facets (2005) for clarinet
Carol McGonnell, clarinet

Michel Galante - Watercolors (2003) for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano and percussion

Michel Galante - Leaves of Absence (2005) for flute, clarinet, trombone and string quintet

Huck Hodge - Transfigured Etudes (2009) for piano

Joshua Fineberg - Objets trouvés (2009) for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, and percussion
U.S. premiere performed by Argento in 2011

Argento Chamber Ensemble — Michel Galante, conductor

  Tristan Murail Joshua Fineberg Huck Hodge Michel Galante  

Murail in America is supported in part by The French-American Fund for Contemporary Music and the Brooklyn Public Library.

Check back for more exciting performances in the 2015-16 season.

Southern Exposure New Music Series

Friday, August 28, 2015, 7:30 PM
School of Music Recital Hall (Room 206), University of South Carolina
813 Assembly Street, Columbia
Pre-concert conversation at 6:00 ; educational concert at Dreher High School on Aug 27 ; masterclasses at USC on Aug 27

The concert program features ABRAXAS by rising star Jesse Jones and the world premiere of Symphony No. 10 in Two Momvements, Michel Galante's chamber ensemble version of Gustav Mahler's heartwrenching last symphony.

Michel Galante writes on Jesse Jones's ABRAXAS — “A lot of what he explores instrumental timbre. What you’ll hear is a lot of dramatic gestures, but you’ll also hear a lot of timbres that are combinations that make a rich harmonic language.” On the Mahler — “Mahler's Tenth Symphony contains Mahler’s most advanced and modern musical innovations, but more importantly to the modern ear, musically communicates complex emotions such as guilt, regret, ambivalence and jealousy. This arrangement for chamber ensemble explores the more intimate aspects of these fragments. For the newcomer to Mahler’s music, it will communicate directly to their emotions. For those familiar with Mahler’s orchestral idiom, the chamber arrangement will give the learned ear a chance to listen to its intimate orchestration and compare it to the Mahlerian sound orchestra in their heads, giving them a chance to speculate for themselves about how Mahler might have orchestrated the piece himself.”

Program Highlights

Jesse Jones - ABRAXAS (2013)

Gustav Mahler - Symphony No. 10 (1910)
arranged in two movements for chamber ensemble by Michel Galante (2015) world premiere

Tristan Murail - Feuilles à travers les cloches (1998)

Argento Chamber Ensemble — Michel Galante, conductor

  Jesse Jones Tristan Murail Michel Galante  

Moving Sounds® Festival - Scelsi Revisited: Haas, Murail, Scelsi

Friday, September 18, 2015, 7:00 PM
Bohemian National Hall, 321 East 73 Street, New York [subway: 6 to 77th Street]
Admission free, reservation required (click here)

In this 7th year of artistic collaboration with the Austrian Cultural Forum, Argento takes part in curating a festival celebration at the crossroads of classical and electronic sounds. From September 11 to 18, Moving Sounds 2015 delves into creativity, experimentation and critical thought in performances, interactive sound installations, film and video, and panel discussions.

Argento performs in the culminating concert of the festival on September 18 with violinist Hanna Hurwitz illuminating Giacinto Scelsi's Anahit coupled with spatialized responses by Tristan Murail and the U.S. premiere of Georg Friedrich Haas's Introduktion und Transsonation.

Program (9/18)

Tristan Murail - C'est un jardin secret, ma sœur, ma fiancée, une source scellée, une fontaine close... (1976) for viola
Stephanie Griffin, viola

Tristan Murail - Les Ruines circulaires (1998)for clarinet and violin
Doori Na, violin, Carol McGonnell, clarinet

Tristan Murail - Feuilles à travers les cloches (1998) for flute, violin, cello and piano

Giacinto Scelsi - Tre pezzi (1965) for E-flat clarinet
Carol McGonnell, clarinet

Georg Friedrich Haas - Introduktion und Transsonation (2012) for 17 instruments and tape
U.S. premiere

Giacinto Scelsi - Anahit (1965) for violin and chamber orchestra
Hanna Hurwitz, violin

Argento Chamber Ensemble — Michel Galante, conductor

  Tristan Murail Georg Friedrich Haas Hanna Hurwitz Giacinto Scelsi Michel Galante  
Argento's 2015-16 season programming has been made possible by the Fritz Reiner Fund, the Alice M. Ditson Fund of Columbia University, and New Music USA's Cary New Music Performance Fund. Public support is provided by the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, and the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.